A MEANINGFUL

MISSION and HISTORY

Our Mission

The DFL Senior Caucus mission is to involve seniors throughout Minnesota in the political process, to provide a vehicle for their active participation in the DFL party, and to promote programs and legislation that protect and enhance the lives of seniors.

The DFL Senior Caucus was founded in the spring of 2006 with the goal of increasing senior participation and influence in the Minnesota DFL Party and the halls of Government by:

  • Encouraging senior participation in the political process
  • Bringing focus and accountability to senior issues
  • Speaking up and securing support for issues

We are the voice of Seniors in the DFL Party and in the public assemblies and legislative halls.


Join us and make our voice stronger.

Endorsements

The DFL Senior Caucus has endorsed the following candidates as having agreed to support the MN DFL Senior Caucus issues.  Congratulations! *

To be considered for endorsement, download a questionnaire from Get Questionnaire, complete the requested information, and return it to dflseniors@gmail.org. Tell us what office you seek and your contact information.

Dawanna Witt, Hennepin County Sheriff; https://www.wittforsheriff.com/meet-dawanna

Irene Fernando, Hennepin County Commissioner Dist 2; voteirene.com

Marion Greene, Hennepin County Commissioner Dist 3; mariongreene.org

Lori Norvell, Mpls School Bd Dist 5; norvell4schoolboard.com

Jaton White, Mpls School Bd At-Large; facebook.com/Jaton for Minneapolis School Board

John Peters, SD05; ajp4mnsenate.org

Jen McEwen, SD08; votemcewen.com

Liz Olson, HD08A; lizforduluth.com

Alicia Kozlowski, HD08B; aliciaforduluth.com

John Peura, SD11; johnpeura.wixsite.com/peuraforminnesota

Pete Radosevich, HD11A; peteradosevichforhouse11A.com

Aleta Borrud, SD24; aleta4mnsenate.com

Kimberly Hicks, HD25A; kimhicksformnhouse25a.com

Brad Brown, HD27B; brown4mnhouse.com

Kate Luthner, SD32; kateluthnermnsenate.com

Nancy McLean, SD33; nancymcleanforsenate.com

Hanna Valento, HD33A; hannavalento.com

Josiah Hill, HD33B; josiahhill.org

Kari Rehrauer, SD35; kariformn.com

Heather Gustafson, SD36; voteheathergustafson.com

Judy Seeberger, SD41; judyforsenate.com

Tina Folch, HD41B; tinafolch.com

Ann Rest, SD43; annrest.com

Cedric Frazier, HD43A; https://www.cedrickfrazier.com/cedrick

Mike Freiberg, HD43B; mikefreiberg.com

Tou Xiong, SD44; touxiongsenate.com

Kelly Morrison, SD45; morrisonforsenate.com

Lauren Bresnahan, HD45A; bresnahanforhouse.com

Ron Latz, SD46; ronlatz.org

Nicole Mitchell, SD47; nicolemitchell.org

Amanda Hemmingsen-Jaege, HD47A; amandaformnhouse.com

Lindsey Port, SD55; lindseyportmn.com

Jessica Hanson, HD55A; Jesshansonforhouse.com

Justin Emmerich, SD56; emmerichforsenate.com

Bobby Joe Champion, SD59; https://www.facebook.com/SenBobbyJoeChampion/posts

Ester Agbaje, HD59B; www.estheragbaje.com

Kari Dziedzic, SD60; kari4senate.com

Sandy Pappas, SD65; sandypappas.com

Dean Phillips, CD3; phillipsforcongress.org

Jennifer Schultz, CD8; jenschultzforcongress.com

Keith Ellison, MN Attorney General; https://www.keithellison.org/

Julia Blaha, MN state Auditor; https://www.blahaforauditor.org/

Steve Simon, MN Secretary of State; https://stevesimonmn.com/

Tim Walz & Peggy Flanagan, MN Governor and Lieutenant Governor; https://walzflanagan.org/

* The DFL Senior Caucus rescinds the following endorsements: Martha Holton Dimick for the position of Hennepin County Attorney; Karn Engelsgjierd for Mpls School Bd Dist 3; Yusra Arab for SD63A.

 

Please Join Us!

Join us and become an active member of our DFL Community Caucus to help us address the needs of seniors. You can join one or more of our local chapters and any of our committees leading us on vital issues that concern us all. Your membership allows us to reach more seniors and have a larger voice on issues. You become part of a mission and movement to address the needs of senior citizens across Minnesota.

Making a better world for our Children, our Grandchildren, and Ourselves!

ORGANIZING DOCUMENTS

The state DFL Senior Caucus is governed under its Charter document.  It states that the purposes of the Senior Caucus are:

  1. to foster the involvement of Minnesota seniors, especially those persons 55 years of age and older, in the political process
  2. to encourage their active participation in the DFL Party
  3. to bring outreach and focus to senior issues
  4. to promote, support, and hold accountable DFL candidates at all levels who are aware of and committed to the concerns of Minnesota seniors
  5. to increase voter turnout among Minnesota seniors
  6. to ensure appropriate senior representation in party positions in the DFL Party

LOCAL CHAPTERS

The DFL Senior Caucus members residing within a particular Minnesota U.S. Congressional District, or smaller geographic area, may organize and operate a local Chapter of the DFL Senior Caucus in that district or area in order to further the purposes and activities of the Senior Caucus. 

Senior Caucus members seeking to form such a Chapter agree to operate under the Senior Caucus Charter and must apply to the Senior Caucus Board for recognition as an official Chapter. 

Chapters must semiannually report their activities to the Senior Caucus Board by February 1 and August 1 of each year. 

I decided at the age of 74 to retire. A current member of the Anoka County Senior Caucus invited me to come. I became president and increased the membership. The time has been worthwhile to me.

Melvin Aanerud

As one of the Founders of the DFL Senior Caucus, and as a former DFL State Representative, my main purpose was to create a political vehicle for Seniors to make known, and provide visibility for the many issues of seniors (health care being #1) to the DFL Party and to political leaders at the State, Federal and local levels.

Dwayne King

I am a DFLer because the Democratic Party is the compassionate party. The DFL is concerned with the well being of all people, from birth through death with dignity. The DFL is the party that represents my progressive philosophies.

Gary Westorff